Minimize eoPortal News: Did you know?

SpaceX resupply launch scrubbed by helium leak

14 April 2014

Web Content Image

The launch of a SpaceX's Dragon supply ship from Cape Canaveral was scrubbed Monday due to a helium leak in the Falcon 9 rocket's first stage. The next launch attempt will be no earlier than Friday.

SpaceX launch director Ricky Lim informed the Falcon 9 launch team of the scrub at 3:39 p.m. EDT (1939 GMT), soon after crews finished loading kerosene and liquid oxygen propellant into the two-stage rocket.

"As folks heard on the anomaly net, we have encountered an issue that will result in a scrub of today's 4/14 launch attempt," Lim said. "The team here will start to safe the vehicle and offload propellants."

The 208-foot-tall launcher was on track for liftoff at 4:58 p.m. EDT (2058 GMT) on SpaceX's third operational resupply run to the International Space Station. A Dragon cargo ship is mounted atop the rocket packed with approximately 2.4 tons of supplies, including fresh experiments, food, spare parts and other gear.

Source: Spaceflight Now

Image credit: NASA - Dragon spacecraft docking with ISS

Related Missions: