Minimize Earth Observation Mission News

Ten commercial Earth observing satellites launched aboard Minotaur-C rocket

31 October 2017

Web Content Image

Returning to service after a six-year hiatus, Orbital ATK's revamped Minotaur-C rocket soared into space on 31 October from California's Central Coast with 10 commercial Earth-imaging spacecraft for Planet, a San Francisco-based company with a globe-spanning satellite fleet mapping the world's land masses every day.

The 104-foot-tall (32-meter) rocket ignited its solid-fueled Castor 120 first stage booster at 2:37 p.m. PDT (5:37 p.m. EDT; 21:37 GMT) Tuesday after a smooth countdown, quickly climbing away from pad 576E at Vandenberg Air Force Base.

Source: SpaceFlight Now

Image credit: Orbital ATK - The Minotaur-C rocket fires away from pad 576E at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California.

Related Missions: