Minimize Research and Application News

NASA analyses Super Typhoon Hagupit's rains and wind on Philippine approach

05 December 2014

Web Content Image

NASA/JAXA's TRMM satellite and the RapidScat instrument provided rainfall and wind data of Super Typhoon Hagupit on approach to the Philippines, while NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite provided a visible image of the storm. In the Philippines, Hagupit is known locally as "Typhoon Ruby."

The Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission or TRMM satellite caught a good view of Super Typhoon Hagupit on 4 December 2014 at 1721 UTC (12:21 p.m. EST) when its sustained winds were estimated at over 145 knots (166.8 mph). TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) showed that the heaviest rainfall was just southwest of a well-defined eye.

About three hours later the International Space Station-RapidScat instrument captured data on Hagupit's winds. The RapidScat image showed sustained winds of at least 30 metres per second (67 mph/108 kph) around the eye of the storm.

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite flew over Super Typhoon Hagupit on 5 December at 4:22 UTC (4 December at 11:22 p.m. EDT) and the Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite or VIIRS instrument aboard captured a visible image of the storm. The VIIRS image showed a symmetric ring of intense thunderstorms surrounding the 12-nautical-mile-wide eye.

Source: National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Image credit: NASA/JAXA/SSAI, Hal Pierce - TRMM view of Typhoon Hagupit

Related Missions: